International Bluegrass Music Award Nominees

Perennial favorite Alison Krauss and Union Station received 11 nominations, including Vocal Group and Instrumental Group of the Year, from the International Bluegrass Music Awards today.

The group Blue Highway was close behind with 10 nominations, including Album of the Year and Song of the Year for “Marbletown.”

[“Marbletown” sample]

Bluegrass veterans Doyle Lawson and Rhonda Vincent, who along with their bands, Quicksilver and The Rage, each garnered an Entertainer of the Year nod, revealed the nominations this morning.

Lawson says Bluegrass music has seen steady growth, making it a viable force in the industry.


“We’re still a minority music, obviously, but not nearly so much as we used to be, and the fact that now the rest of the music industry does recognize and realize that you know, this is a for real thing.”

Marty Stuart will host the International Bluegrass Music Awards on September 28 at the Grand Ole Opry House.

Please keep your community civil. Comments will be moderated prior to posting, and Nashville Public Radio reserves the right to approve them at its discretion. Comments containing links promoting goods, services - even noble organizations - will not be published. Your comments may include external links, but all comments with links will be delayed as they are reviewed. Comments containing profanity will be rejected.

Comments are closed.